Listen Live
Wizard Radio Media - Music

Review: Take That (Sunday 20th)

21st September 2015 | Music

Night Two of the Apple Music Festival calls, and it’s time for 90’s boyband turned modern day ballad factory Take That to take to the stage.

For the teens in attendance (we were few and far between), it was a set full of, ‘Oh they perform THAT song!’ and ‘Oh I remember this from The Circus album’. For the majority (fourty-something screaming women), it was the chance to fulfil a lifelong dream of Robbie Williams serenading you.

Unfortunately, Robbie has left the band, as has Jason Orange (Who? Exactly). But, Gary Barlow, Mark Owen and Howard Donald are still in full force with a set that, surprisingly, lacks many of their newer Number 1’s.

The bands latest album, the aptly named ‘III’, has recently seen them embark on a two-leg UK tour (the UK part ended in Newcastle in June, the European part starts in Denmark on the 1st of October). Despite the lack of hits from the track, led single ‘These Days’ charted at Number 1, whilst ‘Let In The Sun’ and ‘Higher than Higher’ struggled to make the Top 40.

Opening with ‘Shine’ and ‘Greatest Day’, arguably their best two tracks, we were ready to leave. That’s had they not followed it up with an epic, non-stop set list featuring ‘Patience’, ‘Pray’, ‘Up All Night’, ‘The Flood’ and ‘Relight My Fire’. There was a mixture of hits from when the band were a five-some but mostly a collection of their time as a four-some.

Through-out the whole set, not a person could be seen checking Twitter or replying to an email. If there’s one thing Take That can’t be accused of, it’s putting on a bad show. Their crowd interaction was on point, regularly making sure that everybody was a part of the…

Review: Charlie Puth (Sunday 20th)

21st September 2015 | Music

For anybody under the age of 20, Charlie Puth was perhaps the act they were most looking forward to for Night 2 of the Apple Music Festival.

The 23 year old singer-songwriter gained fame with his Wiz Khalifa-collaboration earlier this year (‘See You Again’) which left Fast & Furious fans in floods of tears. His latest release, ‘Marvin Gaye’, featuring Meghan Trainor has proved that he is much more than a one hit wonder. His set at the Apple Music Festival reassured fans that his upcoming debut album, ‘Nine Track Mind’, is worth listening to.

Puth did the risky thing of opening with three tracks that many in the audience wouldn’t have heard of yet. ‘Some Type of Love’ (the title track of his debut EP) opened the set and set the scene for a soulful, upbeat session. Puth could be seen smiling in awe, only a few months ago he was broke in California – now he’s opening for Take That! He proves himself thankful many times during the set.

Also featured in his set is next single, ‘One Call Away’ which is instantly a fan favourite. Turning many heads in the crowd, this is the track which is most definitely a hit. After saying hi to his parents, whilst looking down the camera lens, he performs ‘Marvin Gaye’ and does an upbeat-jazz cover of Calvin Harris & Disclosure’s ‘How Deep Is Your Love’ – both of which get the crowd moving and shacking.

Charlie Puth’s confidence is radiated through his music. An outstanding set, ending on his solo version of ‘See You Again’, reminds the audience why he is someone to get excited about.

We’re very much looking forward to what is come for Charlie Puth.

Setlist: Take That (Sunday 20th)

20th September 2015 | Music

Missed Take That take over the Apple Music Festival on Sunday 20th September? You can view Gary, Mark and Howard's full set below!

Main Set:
1. Shine
2. Greatest Day
3. Get Ready For It
4. Hold Up A Light
5. Patience
6. Pray
7. Up All Night
8. A Million Love Songs/Babe (Acoustic Medley)
9. Back For Good
10. The Flood
11. These Days
12. Relight My Fire (Dan Hartman Cover)
13. Rule The World
14. Never Forget